Harry Kane joins illustrious list of World Cup Golden Boot winners

Harry Kane has become just the second English player to win the World Cup Golden Boot.

Kane matched the six goals scored by Gary Lineker in Mexico in 1986 to claim the accolade.

Here, we take a look back at the previous top scorers since England were crowned world champions in 1966.

1966 England – Eusebio

Soccer – World Cup England 1966 – Quarter Final – Portugal v North Korea – Goodison Park
Eusebio acknowledges the cheers of the crowd after his four goals propelled Portugal to a place in the semi-finals (PA)

Winner of the Ballon d’Or the previous year, the Benfica forward scored nine in Portugal’s run to third place, including four goals in one match against North Korea.

1970 Mexico – Gerd Muller

Soccer – European Cup Final Replay – Bayern Munich v Athletico Madrid
Gerd Muller enjoyed a year to remember (PA)

Muller was named European Footballer of the Year in 1970 and the Bayern Munich striker’s 10-goal haul for West Germany remains the third highest ever at a single World Cup.

1974 West Germany – Grzegorz Lato

The only Polish player ever to win the Golden Boot, the winger scored seven times as his country finished third.

1978 Argentina – Mario Kempes

Kempes failed to score in the first round of games but netted twice against both Poland and Peru in the second round of fixtures before his famous double against Holland in the final to take his tournament tally to six goals.

1982 Spain – Paolo Rossi

The Juventus forward led Italy to the World Cup with his six goals. Like Kempes before him, Rossi was also named player of the tournament.

1986 Mexico – Gary Lineker

Half of Lineker’s six goals came in a 3-0 win against Poland, with his 25-minute hat-trick the second quickest in World Cup history. Two more goals against Paraguay followed in the knockout stages before England were controversially eliminated by Argentina in the quarter-finals, with Lineker on the scoresheet in a 2-1 loss.

1990 Italy – Salvatore Schillaci

A relative unknown before the tournament started, having only started one game for the Azzurri prior to the World Cup. Schillaci was the surprise star as hosts Italy finished third thanks to his six goals.

1994 United States – Oleg Salenko and Hristo Stoichkov

Russia’s Salenko is the only player to win the award playing for a team that went out in the group stages. He shared the award with Stoichkov, who also scored six times to help Bulgaria finish fourth. Both players were making their debuts in the World Cup.

1998 France – Davor Suker

Davor Suker takes on England full-back Gary Neville during a friendly at Wembley (PA)

Six was the magic number for the sixth tournament in a row as Suker’s goals helped Croatia finish third in their first ever World Cup.

2002 South Korea/Japan – Ronaldo

World Cup Brazil v Belgium
Ronaldo celebrates his goal against Belgium in Kobe, Japan (PA)

One of the competition’s most consistent performers, the Brazilian’s eight goals in 2002 are sandwiched by four in 1998 and three in 2006 to make him the second highest scorer in World Cup history.

2006 Germany – Miroslav Klose

Soccer – 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa – Round Of 16 – Germany v England – Free State Stadium
Miroslav Klose celebrates another goal for Germany (Martin Rickett/PA)

The man who eclipses Ronaldo is Germany’s Klose, who across four tournaments between 2002 and 2014 scored 16 goals, including his Golden Boot success with just five when his country were hosts.

2010 South Africa – Thomas Muller

Soccer – 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa – Round Of 16 – Germany v England – Free State Stadium
Thomas Muller, left, celebrates with Miroslav Klose after scoring against England in 2010 (Owen Humphreys/PA)

Five was enough again four years later when fellow German Muller collected the accolade on his tournament bow. Muller, David Villa, Wesley Sneijder and Diego Forlan actually all tied on five goals but Muller won by virtue of having more assists.

2014 Brazil – James Rodriguez

Colombia’s James Rodriguez was the top scorer at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil (Mike Egerton/PA)
Colombia’s James Rodriguez was the top scorer at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil (Mike Egerton/PA)

The Colombian scored six times on his World Cup debut before his streak was ended by hosts Brazil in the quarter-finals. It was the first time since 1994 that the Golden Boot winner had not gone beyond the last eight stage of the competition.

Stay updated with the latest news, gossip and football stories by following us @Football_P

Football Paradise Staff Reporter

Serving quality football news from around the globe. No click-bait.