Kane and England keep up fine records in win over Tunisia

Harry Kane scored twice as England opened their World Cup campaign with a dramatic 2-1 win over Tunisia.

Here, FP looks at some of the main data points to come out of England’s opening game.

Kane and able

Harry Kane heads England's winner against Tunisia
Harry Kane heads England’s winner (Owen Humphreys/PA)

Kane has thrived under the management of Gareth Southgate, with his double in Volgograd taking his tally to 10 goals in eight internationals since Southgate took charge – including eight in six as captain.

His first goals at the finals of a major tournament took his record to 10 in 16 competitive internationals and 15 in 25 overall while his stoppage-time winner, added to his early opener, marked the first double for England at a World Cup since Gary Lineker against Cameroon in 1990.

Fast starters

Steven Gerrard scores early on against the United States in 2010
Steven Gerrard scores early on against the United States in 2010 (Martin Rickett/PA)

Kane’s goal 11 minutes in was just reward for England’s scorching start – but even it paled in comparison to recent England World Cup campaigns.

Steven Gerrard struck after three and a half minutes against the United States in 2010 while in 2006, a third-minute own goal from Paraguay’s Carlos Gamarra was enough for a 1-0 England win in 2006. Gerrard, like Kane, was England’s captain and curiously enough, Gamarra was also Paraguay’s skipper.

Last time out in Brazil was the exception, with Roy Hodgson’s side falling behind to Italy in the 35th minute, Daniel Sturridge’s quick equaliser ultimately to no avail.

Unfamiliar England

England's starting line-up against Italy in 2014
Only Jordan Henderson, number 14, and Raheem Sterling, 19, remained from the 2014 opener (Mike Egerton/PA)

Only two of England’s starting XI – Jordan Henderson and Raheem Sterling – also started the first game of the last World Cup in Brazil, while Kyle Walker and Dele Alli made it four survivors from the Euro 2016 opener against Russia.

The 11 players chosen by Gareth Southgate had never all started an international together before – remarkably, it is the ninth consecutive World Cup in which that is the case for England.

The 11 players went into the game with 183 caps between them, led by Henderson’s 39.

Football Paradise Staff Reporter

Serving quality football news from around the globe. No click-bait.