Mandzukic and Griezmann provide fitting end to record-breaking World Cup

The World Cup final lived up to the tournament’s themes as a penalty and an own goal helped France to victory.

Mario Mandzukic inadvertently nodded Antoine Griezmann’s free-kick past Danijel Subasic to open the scoring with the first own goal in a World Cup final – but the 12th in this tournament, doubling the previous record.

The introduction of VAR means penalties have been a constant and Griezmann tucked away his third and the 22nd successful spot-kick of the tournament, from 29 awarded.

There were also more goals in the final five minutes of games than ever before and here, we take a look at the key data points and how they affected a dramatic tournament.

Own goals

Own goals at each World Cup since 1998
(PA Graphic)

  • The 12 own goals in this tournament doubled the previous record of six from 1998.

  • Aziz Bouhaddouz (Morocco) v Iran, June 15
  • Aziz Behich (Australia) v France, June 16
  • Oghenekaro Etebo (Nigeria) v Croatia, June 16
  • Thiago Cionek (Poland) v Senegal, June 19
  • Ahmed Fathi (Egypt) v Russia, June 19
  • Denis Cheryshev (Russia) v Uruguay, June 25
  • Edson Alvarez (Mexico) v Sweden, June 27
  • Yann Sommer (Switzerland) v Costa Rica, June 27
  • Yassine Meriah (Tunisia) v Panama, June 28
  • Sergei Ignashevich (Russia) v Spain, July 1
  • Fernandinho (Brazil) v Belgium, July 6
  • Mario Mandzukic (Croatia) v France, July 15

  • Sommer is only the third goalkeeper to score a World Cup own goal, following Spain’s Andoni Zubizarreta against Nigeria in 1998 and Noel Valladares of Honduras against France in 2014.
  • The goal also brought together all three main trends – it came from a stoppage-time penalty, with Bryan Ruiz’s shot hitting the crossbar and bouncing in off the diving Sommer.


Penalties scored at each World Cup since 1998
(PA Graphic)

  • Excluding shoot-outs, 16 different players scored from spot-kicks at this World Cup.
  • England’s Harry Kane, like Griezmann, scored three penalties, with Australia’s Mile Jedinak and Sweden’s Andreas Granqvist adding two apiece. All bar Griezmann are their respective countries’ captains.
  • Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo, Iceland’s Gylfi Sigurdsson and Luka Modric of Croatia had the chance to join that list – all three scored and missed penalties. Argentina’s Lionel Messi was also among those denied from 12 yards.
  • The previous high marks saw 18 awarded in 1998 and 2002 and 17 scored, excluding shoot-outs, at France ’98.


Kieran Trippier, centre, puts England in front against Croatia
Kieran Trippier, centre, scores England’s ninth set-piece goal of the World Cup (Owen Humphreys/PA)

The high penalty total contributed to a runaway record in terms of goals from set-pieces, with England among the main beneficiaries.

  • Of the 169 goals at the tournament, 73 came either directly or indirectly from free-kicks, corners, penalties or long throws – 43.2 per cent.
  • FIFA provides figures for set-piece goals as far back at the 2002 tournament, with the previous record in that time being 46 out of 147 (31.3 per cent) in 2006.
  • Three quarters of England’s goals – nine out of 12 – came directly or indirectly from set-pieces.


Colombia’s Carlos Sanchez, second left, is booked after conceding a penalty against England
Colombia’s Carlos Sanchez, second left, is booked against England (Aaron Chown/PA)

While VAR has seen more penalties awarded, the tallies of yellow and red cards for this tournament are unusually low.

  • Only four players were sent off in this year’s tournament – the first time since the World Cup’s expansion to 32 teams in 1998 that the total has even been in single figures.

  • Carlos Sanchez (Colombia) v Japan, June 19
  • Jerome Boateng (Germany) v Sweden, June 23
  • Igor Smolnikov (Russia) v Uruguay, June 25
  • Michael Lang (Switzerland) v Sweden, July 3

  • There have been 219 yellow cards (including second yellows) – 37 more than in Brazil four years ago but considerably fewer than any other 32-team World Cup. The record is 345 at the 2006 tournament.

Late goals

Late goals at each World Cup since 1998
(PA Graphic)

  • There have been 29 goals scored in the final five minutes of games.
  • The previous record came at France 98, with 24 – a total which does not include Laurent Blanc’s ‘Golden Goal’ winner for France in extra-time against Paraguay.
  • Seventeen games at Russia 2018 witnessed a late equaliser or winner. Colombia scored in stoppage time to force extra-time against England in the last 16 but were defeated in a penalty shoot-out. Costa Rica’s equaliser against Switzerland in Group F came after the Swiss had taken the lead in the 88th minute.
  • Brazil’s second against Costa Rica from Neymar, timed at 96 minutes and 49 seconds, was the latest goal excluding extra-time in a World Cup game since 1966.

Penalty shoot-outs

Croatia celebrated back-to-back shoot-out wins
Croatia, led by Ivan Rakitic, left, celebrated back-to-back shoot-out wins (Manu Fernandez/AP)

England won a World Cup penalty shoot-out for the first time as part of a record-equalling four in the tournament.

  • The 1990, 2006 and 2014 tournaments also saw four games decided on spot-kicks, including the finals of the latter two.
  • Croatia became only the second team, following Argentina in 1990, to win two shoot-outs in the same tournament when they saw off Denmark in the last 16 and Russia in the quarter-finals. Ivan Rakitic scored the winner on both occasions, a first for any player.
  • There have now been 30 World Cup penalty shoot-outs since the format was introduced to the event in 1978.

Football Paradise Staff Reporter

Serving quality football news from around the globe. No click-bait.