Top-flight clubs equal Premier League record for managerial changes in a season

Premier League clubs have equalled the competition’s record for the most managerial changes in a season after West Brom parted company with Alan Pardew.

Pardew on Monday became the second Baggies manager to lose his job this term and the 10th in all in the top flight – matching the the high-water mark of 2013-14.

That includes Crystal Palace, Watford and Southampton’s pre-season appointments failing to see out the campaign, with Palace’s Frank De Boer lasting just four games in the job.

Premier League managerial changes this season (PA)

Craig Shakespeare and Ronald Koeman left Leicester and Everton respectively in October and West Ham moved on from Slaven Bilic before West Brom made their first change by sacking Tony Pulis in November.

Swansea dismissed Paul Clement before Christmas, January saw Mark Hughes and Marco Silva leave Stoke and Watford respectively and in March, Mauricio Pellegrino left Southampton to be replaced by Hughes.

Since the top flight’s rebranding in 1992, the only other double-figure tally of in-season managerial changes came four years ago.

Sunderland started that season’s landslide by sacking Paolo Di Canio in September, with Ian Holloway leaving Palace the following month.

David Moyes' dismissal at Manchester United made it 10 top-flight managerial changes in the 2013-14 campaign
David Moyes’ dismissal at Manchester United made it 10 top-flight managerial changes in the 2013-14 campaign (Richard Sellers/Empics)

Fulham made two changes – Rene Meulensteen replacing Martin Jol in December before himself giving way to Felix Magath in February.

Albion sacked Steve Clarke, Andre Villas-Boas left Tottenham, Cardiff and Swansea dispensed with Malky Mackay and Michael Laudrup respectively and Norwich sacked Chris Hughton.

David Moyes’ ignominious exit from Manchester United 10 months into a six-year contract then made it 10 for the season.

There were nine managerial changes in each of the 1994-95 and 2008-09 terms – the former of which featured 22 teams in the top flight – and eight in 2004-05, 2007-08 and 2015-16.

Football Paradise Staff Reporter

Serving quality football news from around the globe. No click-bait.